Chocolate Chip Cream Cheese Cookies

Brandon and I went to a co-worker’s annual party this past weekend, and I wanted to bring a dessert. When I asked Brandon what I should bring, this was the first dessert that popped in his head. Growing up, I vividly remember making these cookies with my mom. They are my favorite cookie ever, as well as Brandon’s. They are extremely easy to make and are delicious! I am pretty sure I’ve made them 100 times…

Materials:

  • 1/2 C butter
  • 3 oz. cream cheese
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 C flour
  • 1 C chocolate chips (semi sweet)

Procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Cream butter, cheese and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.

3. Add vanilla and egg yolk. Beat altogether.

4. Add flour, mix thoroughly and then add chocolate chips.

5. Drop by spoonful on a non-stick cookie sheet (does not need to be greased if non-stick).

6. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until slightly golden brown on the bottom. (They will look slightly raw, but if you see a tiny bit of golden brown on the bottom they’re done)

Tips:

*One batch makes about 20 cookies. I usually double the recipe and it makes about 40.

*You can make this recipe low fat by substituting fat free or low fat cream cheese and a sugar substitute.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Printable Recipe!

Observations: I actually didn’t have enough sugar for this recipe and kind of freaked out. I’m not much of a baker unless I have a specific recipe to follow. I needed a 1/4 cup of sugar, so I used 1/4 C of powdered sugar instead. I know the bakers out there might be cringing, but they still turned out okay! I also didn’t have enough butter, so I used unsalted butter and added a tiny bit of salt to compensate.

Analysis: Well, they still turned out gooey and chocolaty, even though I didn’t plan ahead and have the correct ingredients. Now I know in the future I can fudge a little with the recipe and they will still turn out okay.

One response

Leave a Reply

