Grandma Flo’s Zucchini Bread

My Grandma Flo ALWAYS baked when I was growing up. She is now 84 and still tries to bake when she can. With severe arthritis in her shoulders, baking can be difficult. Periodically, I will put her recipes on here to pay homage to her. Her zucchini bread is extremely easy, but full of flavor and super moist. Her secret is adding crushed pineapple. My addition to the dish…chocolate chips! The nice thing about quick breads is that you can add/omit what you like/don’t like. I happen to love chocolate, so in go the chocolate chips! Also, a huge thank you to Grandma Murphy for the GIANT zucchinis she gave me that inspired me to bake this.Materials:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 C vegetable oil
  • 2 C sugar
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 2 C shredded unpeeled zucchini
  • 1-8oz. can crushed pineapple, drained
  • 3 C sifted flour
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 1-1/2 t cinnamon
  • 3/4 t nutmeg
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • OPTIONAL–>
    • 1 C chopped dates/raisins
    • 1 C chopped nuts
    • 1 C chocolate chips (you should do it)

Procedure:

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Beat together eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla until thick (I just use a whisk)

3. Stir in remaining ingredients EXCEPT flour, dates, nuts or chocolate chips.  Add the flour a little at a time until well blended.  Then add the dates, nuts or chocolate chips until mixed throughout.

4. Pour batter evenly into 2 greased and floured loaf pans (or a mini loaf pan).  This time I used cooking spray and it was fine (and much easier).

5. Bake in the oven for about 1 hr. or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack before removing from pans. (I put the timer on for 30 minutes thinking the mini loaves would take less time…I think the total time I had it in there for was at least an hour.  Oh well, so much for thinking I knew what I was doing!)

Printable Recipe!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Observations: The bread turned out super moist and had great flavor. I had forgotten how much water zucchini holds, so I had to squeeze the shredded zucchini to get all the water out. A simple way of doing this is by putting the zucchini between two paper towels and squeezing really hard. This is helpful so the strands don’t fall down the sink.

Analysis: There are many ways to vary this recipe. I went to make this again the following week and realized, halfway through making the batter, that my leftover crushed pineapple was moldy. So, I decided to throw in golden raisins because they plump up better than regular raisins. I had gone out to buy chocolate chips specifically for this recipe, and forgot to put them in. Anyway, it still turned out delicious and stayed moist without chocolate chips or crushed pineapple.

Leave a Reply

