Tequila Glazed Grilled Chicken

I clipped this chicken recipe out of Cooking Light Magazine.  I tested a couple things out and they worked out really well.  Unfortunately, we did not have any tequila…so I used extra pineapple juice instead.  The sauce still turned out great! I also used the sauce in the rice, along with some extra goodies.

Materials:

  • 1-1/2 t ground cumin
  • 1 t chili powder
  • 3/4 t kosher salt
  • 1/4 t chipotle chile powder
  • 6 bone-in chicken thighs (about 2 lbs) – (I used a 2 lb package of chicken cutlets, you can use what you like best)
  • 3/4 C pineapple juice
  •  1/3 C tequila (I used more pineapple juice)
  • 1/4 honey
  • 2 t cornstarch
  • 2 t water
  • 2 t grated lime rind
  • 3 T fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 t crushed red pepper
  • Cooking spray

Procedure:

1. Preheat grill to medium high heat. Or begin your coals on the charcoal grill.

2. Combine first 4 ingredients in a small bowl; rub evenly over chicken.

3. Bring the pineapple juice, tequila, and honey to a boil in a small saucepan; cook until reduced to 3/4 cup (about 10 minutes). Combine cornstarch and 2 teaspoons water in a small bowl, and stir well. Add cornstarch mixture to juice mixture, stirring constantly with a whisk. Bring to a boil and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, and stir in lime rind, 3 tablespoons lime juice, and red pepper.

4. Place chicken on grill rack coated with cooking spray (or brush with olive oil). Cover and grill 5 minutes on each side. Once you flip for the first time, start occasionally basting with juice mixture. Cook covered, occasionally flipping/basting until done.

Yes! You can grill in the rain...Thanks Brandon.

Observations: Well, I did not end up having tequila like I thought I did, so I used extra pineapple instead like their recipe suggested. This dish was packed full of flavor and was complimented well with the rice. Before you baste the chicken with the sauce on the grill, reserve some on the side to use as a sauce for serving. I poured a little of the reserved sauce on top of the dish and served the chicken over my Revised Cilantro Lime Rice Recipe.

Analysis: I don’t really know how much of a difference the tequila would make, so I wouldn’t worry about buying tequila solely for this recipe. Also, I wouldn’t recommend grilling in the rain. It can be done, but it is much easier without the excess water. Other than that, I wouldn’t change anything about this recipe.

Printable Recipe!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

