Chicken Tandoori

ATTENTION!  Before you dismiss this recipe, because you may not like Indian food, read through my reviews! My husband is not really a fan of Indian food, but he’s coming around.  This dish made him realize that Indian food is delicious.  This recipe was found in my Food Network Magazine.  I’ve actually made this once before, but we loved it so much I made it again.  This recipe can be found on Food Network’s website, which is why I’m not including it on this page.  I didn’t do anything different with the recipe because it already tasted great.  If you click HERE it will take you to a direct link to view the recipe.

Instead of plain old rice, I like to serve this with cous cous.  For those of you who have never had cous cous, you have to try it!  I cheat and by the Near East brand.  My favorites are toasted pine nut and roasted garlic and olive oil.  What tastes even better is if you add golden raisins to the cous cous.  Adding a little something sweet to the cous cous compliments it very well.  You can pretty much add whatever veggies you would like to it.  It really is an open canvas for creativity.

**Another plus is that the Near East cous cous cooks in 5 minutes or less!  Great for a weeknight side dish when you’re in a hurry.

For this dish, I used the toasted pine nut cous cous and cooked it according to the directions.  When you take the boiling water/chicken stock off the stove and add the cous cous, stir in a generous handful of golden raisins.  By the time the cous cous has soaked up all the liquid, the golden raisins will be nice and plump.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Printable Recipe

Observations: My chicken was not cooking as well as I had hoped under the broiler, so I moved the wire rack up one more. The chicken was insanely close to the broiler, but it charred up nicely.  Be careful and make sure you keep an eye on your chicken, and move it around on the broiler pan so it browns evenly.  Also, feel free to use boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of, or addition to, the boneless skinless thighs.  I almost always have to use both…I’m a dark meat person and he’s a white meat person.  It works out well when we split a roast chicken!

Analysis: The flavors of this dish are so complex.  You get a little bit of heat from the hot paprika, smokiness from the cumin, and freshness from the coriander and cilantro.  The cilantro, paprika yogurt sauce ties it all together and leaves your palate feeling refreshed.  Not only does this dish have an AMAZING flavor, it is extremely healthy too with 237 per serving.

One response

Leave a Reply

