Grilled Flank Steak with Spicy Corn Relish

Benhart Farms, a local family farm that sells only what they raise, was at the farmer’s market near my house.  They sell chicken, pork, beef and eggs (all hormone free).  Our neighbors had us over for dinner, and we had some of the steak from this farm.  I’m not sure what the cut was, but I know it was very delicious.  I bought a pound of flank steak for a recipe I had seen with a spicy corn relish. The recipe is from Claire Robinson’s 5 Ingredient Fix cookbook.  I have become very fond of her style of cooking over the years.  Her idea of cooking is simple, yet still restaurant quality.  This recipe was just that, and more.  For a teacher and a coach that is currently in graduate school…this cookbook is starting to become my best friend.

Materials:

  • 3 fresh large sweet corn cobs, husks and silk removed
  • 1 small jalapeño
  • Zest and juice of 1 lime
  • Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper, to taste
  • 1 Tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 1.5 pounds flank steak (Flank steak usually comes in 1 lb., which is what I used)

Procedure:

1. Using tongs, cook the corn over the burners of a gas stove, or broil under a broiler set on high until blackened, turning the cobs until evenly charred. (I cooked over the grill since I was also going to grill the steak-you will hear the corn pop occasionally on the grill, which is okay)  Using the sharp knife, cut the kernels from the cobs and transfer them to a bowl.2. Repeat with the jalapeño (I also did this on the grill too); wrap the charred pepper in a paper towel and let stand a few minutes to steam the peel. Use the paper towel to rub the blackened skin from the pepper. Remove the stem and seeds from the pepper, finely chop it, and add it to the corn.  Add the lime zest and juice, chopped cilantro, season with salt and pepper, and toss until well combined. Set aside while you grill the steak. (I started grilling the steak as soon as I took the corn off.  Brandon watched the steak while I made the corn relish.  The steak finished a minute or two before I was done, but it needs to rest at least 5 minutes anyway before you slice it.)

3. Heat a grill pan over high heat until smoking. Season the steak with salt and pepper and place on the pan.  Grill until marks appear and the meat releases itself from the grill, 3 to 4 minutes. Flip the steak and continue grilling 2 to 3 minutes for medium rare. Remove the steak and let it stand 10 minutes before thinly slicing it on the diagonal. (Again, I decided to grill the steak instead.  It depends on your preference and the weather). Serve the sliced flank steak with corn relish spooned over the top.

Printable Recipe

* I also served this with Skillet potatoes: Yukon gold potatoes, onion, olive oil, white pepper, sea salt, garlic powder and ground chipotle powder. I cooked them in the cast iron skillet until browned and slightly crispy.

Observations/Analysis: Hands down, I would recommend doubling the corn relish. I have already gone to the store to buy more corn, and I will use more jalapeños from my garden.  Between the spicy, sweet and tart flavors I couldn’t get enough!  I plan on making a lot and using it as a salsa for chips too.  Claire Robinson recommends adding grilled red onion, roasted red pepper and diced avocado to the relish for a southwestern spin.  Paired with the steak, the flavors were so well matched.  I’m definitely glad I grilled this so I was able to get a smoky charred flavor from the steak and the corn.  I ended up adding 2 jalapeños instead of 1 because I like more heat.  However, the jalapeños became so sweet and delicious from grilling them, I could have added 3!  The steak turned out medium rare, and the flavor was outstanding.  After the first bite, my husband and I both agreed we LOVE this meat from Benhart Farms.  It was the best steak I’ve had in a LONG time.  I’m looking forward to cooking with more of their product.

3 responses

    • Thank you Clara! I used the corn relish recipe the other day to make a salsa. I added roasted red pepper, grilled red onion and fresh avacado. I also added a tiny bit of sugar for sweetness. It was addicting! Let me know what you decide to make with your corn.

Leave a Reply

