Roasted Tomato-Bread Soup

The roma tomatoes from my garden are at their peak.  I had a couple baskets full to the brim and knew I needed to make either soup or marinara sauce.  I’ve made roasted tomato soup and regular tomato soup in the past.  They are great to freeze and save for the winter, but I wanted to do something different.  I came across this recipe in my 5 Ingredient Fix cookbook, which has completely consumed me.  The sour dough bread incorporated in the soup, instead of only having on the side, really captured my attention. It won’t be ideal to freeze because of the bread, but we polished it off so it wasn’t an issue.   Observations: I didn’t really measure how much bread I was putting in the soup, and I think I got a little carried away.  I was so excited about the sour dough bread and ended up adding too much.  I had to add a tiny bit of water to make it looser again.  The extra bread really soaked up all the liquid.  Next time, I would add a little bread at a time.

Analysis:  Roasting the tomatoes is what brought this dish together.  The recipe recommends using garlic oil….USE IT!  Or buy it/make it if you don’t have it.  It is such an incredible time saver.  As soon as I opened the bottle and smelled it, I knew it was going to be a fabulous ingredient. Also, you should try to buy the San Marzano tomatoes she recommends.  I use those canned tomatoes for all my marinara sauces. I never thought that canned tomatoes could have a noticable flavor difference, but boy-oh-boy they sure do!  We had this soup for leftovers and it got better each time I re-heated it.  This dish IS a meal by itself.  It is filling and full of flavor.  No need for a grilled sandwich to go along with it!

Printable Recipe

Leave a Reply

