Sweet and Spicy Meatloaf

This recipe comes from my best friend’s father.  He made this dish all the time when we were growing up.  I would either be invited for dinner, or I would receive leftovers. Hands down, this is the BEST meatloaf I’ve ever eaten.  The sauce is added to the meat and then layered on top to make it incredibly juicy and full of flavor.

Materials:

  • 2 lbs. ground sirloin (or your own special meat combo)
  • 1 bottle chili sauce
  • 4 generous Tablespoons honey
  • 4 teaspoons teriyaki sauce
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 4 teaspoons parsley flakes
  • 2 teaspoons ground chipotle powder (can add more if you like spicy)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 handfuls (about a cup) of breadcrumbs plus more if needed (3 cups panko bread crumbs plus more if needed)

Procedure:

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix the chili sauce, honey, teriyaki, Worchestershire, garlic and onion powder, parsley flake and ground chipotle.  Stir until well combined.  You can taste for flavor.  If it tastes delicious, you’re golden!  If it is too spicy or tart, add more honey. 

2. Place meat in a large bowl.  Add the eggs, breadcrumbs, and half of the sauce. Mix with hands until well combined.

3. Spray the two loaf pans (or a four loaf pan) with nonstick spray. Form meat into two (or four) oval logs.  Place the meat into the sprayed loaf pan(s).  I usually take something narrow (like a chopstick) and stick it in the meat 4-6 times to create little holes.  Only push the chopstick down an inch.  This will let the sauce flow into the meat as well as on top.  Spread the sauce evenly over each loaf.

4. Cook the loaves for 45 minutes, or until they are no longer pink in the middle (or with a TINY bit of pink).  Even if you wait until they are all brown, it will still be super juicy!

Printable Recipe!

Observations/Analysis: There isn’t much to say about this recipe, except that it is AMAZING.  The only thing I did different was use Panko bread crumbs and ground chipotle powder. It wasn’t enough powder to make it spicy, but it gave it a nice subtle smokey flavor. My husband has been begging me to make this more a month.  You might be wondering, “who ever begs for meatloaf?” Trust me when I say  This.Is.The.Best.Meatloaf.EVER.  End of story.

Potatoes: The potatoes you see pictures are a simple mashed with milk, butter, chives, sea salt and pepper.  I took half of them and mixed in goat cheese.  My husband does not like goat cheese so I left his plain.  The goat cheese was INSANELY delicious.  I think I’ll be adding it to my mashed potatoes every time from now on..

5 responses

Leave a Reply

