Simple Potato & Leek Soup

This past week, my cross country season came to an end.  With all the commotion involved, including school work for my job and graduate school, there hasn’t been much time to cook. Last week, I purchased potatoes and leeks from the farmer’s market and needed to use them before they went bad.  I was short on time and groceries. This soup was so simple to create and very inexpensive.  I looked at several recipes online and threw together what I had.  It wasn’t too shabby! Read below for tips on cleaning leeks and freezing soups.

Materials:

  • Golden Potatoes, peeled and cut into cubes (I used a 5lb. bag)
  • Leeks, ends cut off and cleaned thoroughly (I used 4)
  • Chicken Stock (I used fat free, low sodium-about 2 large 49 oz. cans)
  • Fresh chopped chives
  • Freshly ground black pepper (I used a garlic pepper season/rub mix)

Procedure:

1. Place potatoes in a large stock pot (I used an 8 qt. stock pot). Trim leeks by cutting off the ends (about a half inch.  Cut leeks in half (length wise) and rinse in water.  Also, you can fill your sink up with water and let the leeks soak. All the sediment and dirt will float towards the bottom.  Once leeks are cleaned, slice all 4 of them.

2. Place potatoes and leeks in a large stock pot (I used an 8 qt. stock pot).  Cover with enough chicken stock to cover an inch over the veggies. Season with black pepper (or seasoning). Bring to a boil and let cook until potatoes and leeks are soft.

3. Use an immersion blender to blend the soup until light and smooth. You can also use a regular blender (work in batches) if you do not own an immersion blender. Taste for seasoning.  Top with freshly chopped chives.

Printable Recipe!

Observations: I have never used leeks before and found them to be confusing.  I’ve read before that it is good to soak them in water, but that trick didn’t work to well.  It ended up being faster by holding hem under the sink and using my hands to wash them.  This soup made a lot, but it was extremely friendly on my wallet.  It is also a lighter soup, even though it has potatoes.

Analysis: This made A TON of soup, which is great to have for lunches and dinners throughout the week.  I’m not exactly sure how it will freeze, since I have never made this before.  I’ve never used a leek before in my life, so this was a new experience overall.  For only having 4 ingredients, the soup was very flavorful. I would definitely attempt making this again in a smaller batch. 

6 responses

Leave a Reply

