10 Minute Apple Sauce

My husband and I bought a ton of apples at an orchard last week. We have been extremely busy, but I wanted to make sure I used them to bake/cook before they go bad. I have made this 10 minute apple sauce several times but never with the seasonings below. This is Alton Brown’s recipe, but it is so easy to change ingredients and vary the recipe depending on your tastes. I’ll explain my changes within the recipe.  After making this apple sauce at home, I honestly will never buy apple sauce from the store again. It lasts a long time in the refrigerator as well. The ingredients for this recipe are items I always have on hand (huge bonus).  

Materials:

  • 3 Golden Delicious apples, peeled, cored, and quartered
  • 3 Fuji apples, peeled, cored, and quartered (I used 3 Cortland)
  • 1 cup unfiltered apple juice (I used apple cider)
  • 2 tablespoons cognac or brandy
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (or more depending on taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1/8 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

Procedure:

1. In a sealable microwave-safe container, combine apples with all other ingredients. Close lid, leaving one corner of lid open to allow steam to escape. Microwave on high for 10 minutes.

You can purchase this amazing product from Pampered Chef!

2. Using a hand blender (what I used) or potato masher, blend to desired consistency. Serve hot immediately or chill for later use.

Observations: If you are an expert at estimating measurements, then you really do not need to measure for this recipe. However, it is probably a good idea to measure the apple juice (cider) and the cognac because too much liquid can affect the consistency of the apple sauce. I blended this apple sauce a lot more than previous batches to achieve a smoother texture.  Normally I blend less for a chunkier sauce.  That is why this recipe is so wonderful…so many options!

Analysis: This apple sauce is delicious served hot, especially over a scoop of vanilla ice cream. My husband thinks it tastes just like apple pie. I’ve adjusted the seasonings for this batch by adding cardamom, allspice and ground ginger.  I love the flavor it gave to the sauce.  Cardamom has a hint of citrus, sweet and floral flavors, which goes very well with this dish.  It can also be used in savory dishes as well. I would add more of the cardamom, allspice and ginger next time I make this.  I was careful not to add too much because spices can overpower very easily.  I hope to make this again before the season is over and experiment some more.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

