Black Bottoms

This recipe comes from my grandmother and is insanely popular with my family.  The name sounds silly, but it holds so many memories. The ratio between the cream cheese, chocolate cake, and chocolate chips is absolutely amazing. These cupcakes can also be made ahead of time and frozen.  My grandmother used to keep them in the freezer. When I would go to her house, I would always head to the freezer and eat at least 1 or 2. I actually think I might help myself to one right now since I am talking about them so much…Yum!  These cupcakes are a tradition in my family, and everyone out there needs to try these.  I even asked my grandma if I could share the recipe on my blog.  I didn’t want to give away the recipe without her consent! 🙂

Instead of writing the recipe out like my other posts, I am going to write it exactly how my grandma has it written in her recipe (with extra clarification if needed). I made this version with orange food coloring for our Halloween party this past weekend (normally they are white and black).

Black Bottom Cupcakes

In a small bowl, combine:

  1. 1-8oz. cream cheese (softened)
  2. 1/3 C sugar
  3. 1 egg
  4. 1/8 teaspoon salt
  5. OPTIONAL- (This is where I added food coloring to give the cupcakes color for Halloween.  5 drops red, 5 drops yellow)
  6. Beat well with mixer.
  7. Stir in 6 oz. chocolate chips (semi-sweet) and set aside.

In a large bowl stir together:

  1. 1.5 C flour
  2. 1 C sugar
  3. 1/4 C cocoa powder
  4. 1/2 teaspoon salt
  5. 1 teaspoon baking soda
  6. Stir until combined

Add the following to the dry ingredients in the large bowl:

  1. 1 C hot water (make sure it is HOT)
  2. 1/2 C vegetable oil
  3. 1 T white vinegar
  4. 1 teaspoon vanilla
  5. Beat altogether with electric mixer.

Fill small muffin cups halfway with chocolate batter. Top each with a scant tablespoon of cream cheese mixture.

It can get messy...

With the yummy cream cheese mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes. Check in 10 minutes to be safe.  Mine took 10-12 minutes. It will look raw, but check the chocolate cake part with a toothpick. If it comes out clean, they are done!

Make sure you let them cool fully before eating. I usually put them on a baking sheet in the refrigerator until they are cool. Once they are cool, I store them in a container on the counter.  For some reason cooling them right away makes it easier to peel the wrapper off. If you don’t do that, the cupcake can fall apart.

Printable Recipe!

Observations/Analysis: Since I have made these cupcakes a dozen times, I do not have any bad things to say about them. I tried to take pictures of each step, because I know friends who have tried this recipe encountered a few complications. The recipe makes 48 mini cupcakes, but if careful with the batter you could get more.

4 responses

  1. I love the orange color!

    I can never find mini cupcake papers, so I make these in regular size cupcake pans. I like them better when they’re cold or frozen.

Leave a Reply

