Honey Garlic Chicken Thighs

This past week has gone by so fast. I am piloting a new science curriculum and basketball season has begun.  Tryouts were last week and today.  I am pretty confident in the 13 boys I chose out of 44…a lot, I know. I am making sure to post the list of boys that made the team by the office and not by my door.  I don’t know if I can stand to see the sad faces of all those boys who desperately wanted to be on the team. It was a very difficult decision, and I am completely drained. After looking at my photos when I got home, I realized I have several recipes to post.  This recipe was made last week because it was fast, easy, and I have a ton of chicken in the freezer. Fortunately, it ended up being delicious!

Materials:

  • 2 Tablespoons ginger, freshly grated, or less to taste
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (medium)
  • 1/2 cup hoisin sauce
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 pound skinless chicken thigh(s), trimmed of fat and cut into small chunks
  • 2 red bell peppers, sliced
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 2-3 scallions, fresh, reserve some for garnish

Procedure:

1. In a medium glass bowl, combine ginger, garlic, hoisin sauce, orange juice, soy sauce and pepper; add chicken and turn to coat with marinade. Cover bowl and refrigerate for 3 to 4 hours.

2. Remove chicken from marinade; reserve marinade. Stir fry chicken in a wok, or another hot pan.  Once partially cooked, add bell peppers and scallions. Cook until chicken is done and peppers are cooked.

3. Meanwhile, spoon reserved marinade into a small saucepan; stir in honey. Bring to a rolling boil over high heat; boil for at least 1 minute to kill any bacteria. Cook until slightly thick.

4. Serve chicken over rice and top with the sauce. Garnish with scallions.

Printable Recipe!

Observations/Analysis: This recipe was originally intended to be an appetizer with a dipping sauce.  The chicken chunks can be grilled on skewers and basted with the sauce.  I decided to create a stir fry instead and add in some veggies.  I also didn’t have any fresh ginger, so I used about 2 tsp. of ground ginger.  I know there is a huge difference between fresh and ground ginger, but the dish still ended up tasting amazing. Instead of having a “dipping sauce” I poured the sauce over the chicken after it was plated.  This dish took me about 30-40 minutes, start to finish. It is such a great way to have a delicious and healthy meal during the busy work week.

3 responses

Leave a Reply

