The Countdown Begins!


I just got done making some cranberry sauce and cookies and realized it has been a ridiculously long time since I’ve posted. We have been so busy with the holidays coming up, and on top of it our doggy is ill. One day at a time..I’m actually excited to start cooking again.

We celebrate Christmas day at my house, so I have been planning for weeks on what I will serve. This whole week has been planned out as to what I will make each night leading up until the big day. Of course, there are the holiday shindigs at work and, let us not forget, Christmas Eve. As a teacher, I usually have the entire week off before Christmas….this year, not so much. I work until the 22nd and have the 23rd off. It isn’t too bad…

Here is what I will be making in the next week (and posting in the not too distant future):

  1. Meyer Lemon and Rosemary Cookies (made, and will post..to die for by the way)
  2. Berry and Walnut Twist Cookies
  3. 2 versions of Baked French Toast (berry cream cheese and banana nut)
  4. Buffalo Chicken Dip
  5. Chorizo and Cornbread Stuffing
  6. Roasted Cauliflower with dates and pine nuts
  7. Glazed ham with apples and pears
  8. Spiced Apple Pear Cider
  9. Maple mascarpone cheesecake
  10. Dry brined turkey rubbed with maple chipotle butter
  11. Maple and sage breakfast sausage
  12. Peach and prosciutto cornbread muffins

I also made cranberry sauce tonight because it is very simple and lasts at least a week in the refrigerator. Cranberry sauce is a must when cooking turkey. My grandmother always made it with oranges, and I love the sweet/sour/tart combination. I decided to throw in some rosemary to see how that went together, because I love the flavor combination of oranges and rosemary. Here is what I did:

Rosemary Orange Cranberry Sauce

Add 1 cup of water and 1 cup of sugar to a small saucepan. Heat and stir until sugar dissolves in the water. Once dissolved, add 1 bag of fresh cranberries. Boil until the berries begin to burst. Keep heat around medium to medium high. Add the zest of one orange. Next, add the sections of 2 oranges. (Sections are the actual meat of the fruit. No rind or white part) Then, squeeze the remaining juice out of the rest of the orange before you discard it. Toss in 1 rosemary spring and let the mixture simmer for 20 minutes. That’s it! It is super easy, and I am so happy I decided to throw the rosemary in. It will go great with my turkey (and ham) on Christmas day!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

