Holy Comfort Food!

Here is another recipe you don’t have to feel guilty about! I included the nutritional information below. I try to cook meals at least 2-3 times a week. Then, I post my recipes when I have time. This recipe was SO delicious, I had to post as soon as possible. I made this dish last night, and enjoyed the leftovers for lunch today. My husband said it was one of the best pasta dishes I’ve made, and I didn’t even prompt him to say this (surprising). Coming from him, this was a huge compliment.

Skillet Chicken with Artichokes and Roasted Red Peppers

Serves: 6 (1.5 cups per serving)

Nutritional Info: 385 calories, 7g total fat, 567 mg sodium, 53g carbs, 5g sugar, 6g fiber, 23g protein

Materials:

  • 12 oz. whole wheat penne
  • 3/4 pound skinless boneless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 4 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (14 oz.) can artichoke hearts, drained, patted dry, and quartered
  • 1 (12 oz.) jar roasted red peppers, drained and sliced (not oil packed)
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 1 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 4 tablespoons shredded Parmesan cheese (freshly grated!)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch mixed with 2 tablespoons water – added to thicken
  • 1-2 tablespoons tomato paste – added to thicken/flavor

Procedure:

  1. Cook penne according to package directions omitting salt, if desired. Drain and transfer to large bowl.
  2. Meanwhile, sprinkle chicken with 1/4 teaspoon of salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Heat 2 teaspoons of oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add chicken and cook, turning occasionally, until lightly browned and just cooked through, 3-4 minutes. Transfer to plate and set aside.
  3. Heat remaining 2 teaspoons oil in same skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic. Cook, stirring occasionally, until onion begins to soften, about 2 minutes. Stir in artichoke hearts and roasted peppers. Cook, stirring, about 1 minute. Add wine and cook until liquid is reduced by half, about 1 minute. Stir in broth and bring to a simmer.
  4. Add pasta to skillet and cook, stirring occasionally, until heated through and liquid thickens slightly, about 2 minutes (I added the cornstarch and tomato paste and this point). Add chicken and remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Cook until chicken is heated through, about 1 minute. Remove from heat and stir in cheese and basil. Top with more cheese and basil before serving.

Printable Recipe!

Observations: While making this dish I realized the sauce wasn’t getting very thick. I don’t even know if I can really call it a sauce, because it is more of a “coating”. It was creamy, rich, and such a comfort with all the cold weather we’ve been having. Also, tossing in the jarred red peppers and canned artichokes was such a time saver.

Analysis: After my husband’s rave reviews, I plan on making this again very soon. Any pasta sauce you make with wine is on the top of my list. The flavor the sauce receives once you reduce the wine is stellar. I happened to have most of these ingredients on hand, which made this dish extremely easy. You have to try this!

8 responses

  1. Hi Sarah. Saw that you had visited and subscribed and thought I´d pop over for a look and to say hi! Am just about to cook pasta but don´t have any artichokes in – damn! Will have to make this soon though 🙂

  2. Sounds delicious! In planning to make this recipe, I’m considering adding a tablespoon of capers (jarred, in brine). Keep watering my mouth!

Leave a Reply

